More Thankful Than Ever

Standard

Sometimes we get too caught up in ourselves and pursuing our lifestyles and happiness that we become too focused on ourselves.  2008 has been sort of an eye-opening experience for me, because God has really given me a hard lesson on what’s really important, and I’m slowly realizing that I’m not really important.

Now, this conclusion is in direct contradiction to what our “me focused” society constantly proclaims, but it’s the truth.  I’m not really important.  That doesn’t mean that my life isn’t important, but my agenda and my wants are not really important in the whole scheme of things.

I have all I need.  God has seen to that, but at times I think I deserve more than I need.  Aren’t we all like that?  Most modern-day Americans are pretty much at lot of spoiled brats.

This year I have watched people near me go through some pretty serious stuff.  I have watched people walk the trail of illness…most specifically cancer…and I’ve seen how good people  react when they are faced with the mortality of themselves or someone they love.  Just this week my co-worker lost her 13-year-old daughter to a spinal column tumor.  Watching this child and this family shine through this process was completely amazing to me.  Saturday this family will memorialize and lay this child to rest, but even in the midst of their overwhelming grief they wrote this on their blog today:

For those of you who have asked, Natalie’s obituary is in today’s Charlotte Observer. Appropriate that it would be in the Thanksgiving Day paper…we all have so much to be thankful for…especially having known this precious girl for 13 beautiful years! Happy Thanksgiving to all of you!

I can’t even imagine…I’ve never been able to have a child, but that pales in comparison to having to bury a child…especially one you’ve known for 13 years!

I also have a friend who is battling a stage IV glioblastoma brain tumor, and her blog entry today was this:

Hi, hope everyone has had a great Thanksgiving. Both of our families came here to celebrate and we had a great time. They brought most of the food, we just had the turkey cooked and ready for them when they got here. It as been one of the nicest, calmest Thanksgivings I’ve had in awhile.

We thank God for all of our blessings, especially that He is holding us in His hands during this difficult time. We thank him that He loves us through it all.

I’ve had a pretty good day physically, but have been rather tired. Still so far the meds seem to be treating me fairly well, no sickness. I guess the biggest complaint is being tired.

Blessings to all and enjoy the rest of your Thanksgiving.

Her biggest complaint is being tired!  What a testimony!  I think about what I complain about on a daily basis, and it’s nothing…nothing compared to what my friends are going through.  It’s left me feeling like a big spoiled whiny baby.

I also have co-workers who have learned they will not have a job as of January 1, 2009.  As far as I know my hubby and I will still have ours.  We have nothing to complain about…nothing.

This all has laid me bare and has made me feel guilty for having things as good as I have them.  My family is healthy, my bills are paid, and I have more than I need.  Even if everything was going wrong I hope I’d have it in me to be as thankful as my friends who are in the midst of the greatest grief and challenges of their lives.  My history has been to whine and complain and shake my fist at God.  I’m not proud of it.

Reflecting on all of this and looking at my life and the blessings that God has given me I have a thousand reasons to be more thankful than ever.


One response »

  1. wonderful. yes, we do have so much to be thankful for! i think that sometimes, in the midst of pain, struggle and loss we (those who are experiencing such) are able to feel a sense of great big thankfulness… thankfulness for the simple things that some may take for granted.

Leave a Reply

