Twenty-five Christmas Questions

Standard

I posted this on my other blog this morning, and thought it would be appropriate to post here too:

Fellow blogging buddy, Heather, posted a list of Christmas traditions…sort of like the Q/A lists you find on MySpace. I can tell you before I even answer these questions I’m going to get a big fat FAIL, but here I go…

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? Gift bags are the best invention since the wheel. I feel it’s like cheating though, because I like to wrap. I just don’t have the time to wrap anything that can easily be stuffed into a gift bag. I’m a career-woman, folks…sometimes much to my chagrin.
2. Real tree or Artificial? Tree…what tree? For the record if I find time to get one up it’s artificial. There’s absolutely no reason to spend upwards of $60.00 for a tree that only my cats would be around to enjoy…or should I say DESTROY!
3. When do you put up the tree? Let’s see…maybe sometime in December of 2009…maybe not.
4. When do you take the tree down?
I’m beginning to think that none of these questions are going to apply to me…
5. Do you like eggnog? I have only developed a taste for eggnog in recent years, and even then I think, “I’m drinking RAW EGGS! Doesn’t the FDA warn against that?”
6. Favorite gift received as a child? My first stereo. It had to be the tiniest, most compact stereo system in the world, but it delighted me for years with its musical loveliness. With the stereo my parents also gave me two Hall and Oates albums. Score!
8. Easiest person to buy for? Right now it has to be my teenage nephew, because we either give him gift cards (what teenager doesn’t like gift cards?), or I defer to my husband who seems to know just exactly what he would want as my hubby is just a big kid himself.
9. Do You have a nativity scene? Yes, but I feel immensely guilty that its languishing somewhere in the far reaches of my attic right this moment. Next question…
10. Mail or email Christmas cards? Oh, just yesterday I was having a huge moment of indecision on whether or not I had time to process and mail Christmas cards in order for some of them to arrive to the far off places they would be going before Christmas. The decision was made for me when I discovered that my Christmas Card address list did not get transferred to my new computer a couple of months ago. So, those of you who usually get cards from us will endure mailbox silence from the Sprouse House this year. This Q/A is really painting me as a loser isn’t it?
11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received? I honestly cannot remember getting a bad gift. I probably have, but none stand out. I have received some things that I knew I would never enjoy or use, but I wouldn’t call them necessarily bad.
12. Favorite Christmas Movie? Oh, this one is easy. Christmas Vacation…hands down. I can so relate to Clark Griswold on so many levels.
13. When do you start shopping for Christmas? I do pretty well on this. Sometimes I start in late Fall, but one year I started the day after Christmas when I bought my mom a gift for the next year. It was really hard not to go ahead and give it to her though.
14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? No, because by the next year I forget who gave me what, and knowing me I’d give the recycled gift to the person who gave it to me the year before. Recycling is dangerous and not recommended in this case.
15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas? A more apt question is what is not my favorite thing to eat at Christmas (Fruitcake), but just in the last couple of years my family has been having homemade pizza on Christmas day made by moi. Since my teenage years my mostly homemade pizzas have delighted my dad, and a couple of years ago he asked if I would make them on Christmas. The other reason we do pizza is because by Christmas day we’re all tired of turkey and ham.
16. Lights on the tree? Well, when I have tree it’s most certainly covered in lights…the more the better. You can never have too many lights unless you overload the circuits and a fire breaks out…then you have too many lights.
17. Favorite Christmas song? I’m not a big Christmas music person, and my favorites vary. In the last couple of years my fave has been Christmas Offering by Paul Baloche. We we made this video last year for the Billy Graham Christmas Special. I think I like it because it’s more of a praise song than a Christmas song, and it’s all about Jesus.
18. Travel for Christmas or stay home? Oh travel…lots of travel.
19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeers? Eddie and I were trying to do this just last week, and we could get six then we started repeating names.
20. Angel on the tree top or a star? Will the Christmas tree questions never end! I DON’T HAVE A TREE, OKAY! I know I should officially change my last name to Scrooge.
21. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning? Heck, we started opening gifts the second week in December, but for the record…Christmas morning.
22. Most annoying thing about this time of the year? Shopping malls and radio stations that play non-stop Christmas music.
23. Favorite ornament theme or color? Luminescent…anything that looks crystal-ly or frozen…you know…like the woods after a freezing rain…minus the power outages.
24. Favorite Christmas dinner? #15 answered that for me…bring on the Pizza! My family has a secret desire to be Italian and/or Mexican even though we’re Welsh and Irish.
25. What do you want for Christmas this year? For everyone I know who is sick and/or grieving to be healed here on Earth. I would give up every Christmas present I have coming (and more) if that could happen.
Feel free to share yours and link back to me…
About thescribespen

I am a transcription coordinator/administrative assistant who works for a major non-profit international ministry. I live in Charlotte, NC with four fabulous felines. Life has thrown me a few curveballs, but I just keep on swinging and knocking them out of the park with God's help of course!

Leave a Reply

