This Girl’s Got to Have More Fun!

Standard

I’ve decided that I’m losing the ability to have fun. I’ve let life’s obligations turn my life into set little time slots. I don’t know why I’m this way. It’s just how I’ve evolved over time. I love to laugh and have a good time but seldom do I allow myself to. When I do I somehow feel guilty…why I don’t know, but I do.

I find myself being a super-serious super-conscientious person…to a fault. Yes, just like anyone life has dealt me some harsh blows, and sometimes I find myself being defined by those blows, living in mistakes, and losing my ability to really enjoy life.

Since I was born I have been unable to live in the present. I remember as a child if we went to an amusement park I could not enjoy the ride I was on without thinking ahead to what I would ride next. My mother can tell you stories about my anxiousness as a child, so it must be pretty hard-wired now that I’ve reached forty.

The last two weeks of the month are usually pretty lean money-wise for us, but we had some free passes to the movies, because the last time we saw a movie the heat in the theater was broken, and it was like 50-something degrees which rendered our movie-watching experience miserable. We complained, and the manager gave us two free movie passes to any AMC theater.

Yesterday afternoon we decided that it was going to be a movie night for us. I also had a P.F. Changs gift card languishing in my wallet. So, last night was “freebie night”. We got our meal mostly free and our movie completely free. After a meal of lettuce wraps and orange chicken we scooted over to the theater and saw Paul Blart Mall Cop. We love Kevin James and are ardent fams of The King of Queens. However, the previews of the movie looked sort of dumb, and we decided we’d probably wait to see Paul Blart on video when it was released. Well, after hearing several co-workers talk about how clean and funny the movie was we decided that Paul Blart it was!

We were delighted, and the movie is pretty funny and is sort of a take on the movie “Die Hard.” For a Happy Madsion/Adam Sandler produced movie it was relatively clean. I hope Mr. Sandler takes note of the positive response and makes more movies like Paul Blart instead of raunchy, disgusting movies like “Meet the Zohan”…barf!

But I digress…we had a great date night, and I had the most fun that I had in a long time with just my hubby. We decided that we’ve got to have more fun nights, and I’ve got to live more in the present.

About thescribespen

I am a transcription coordinator/administrative assistant who works for a major non-profit international ministry. I live in Charlotte, NC with four fabulous felines. Life has thrown me a few curveballs, but I just keep on swinging and knocking them out of the park with God's help of course!

One response »

  1. Hubby is in the midst of reading Eckert Tolle’s book, The Power of Now. He is fascinated and in awe of the book — he ALWAYS is worrying about the future. So, I wonder if your local library has a copy?

Leave a Reply

