Who said January is a Slow Month?

Standard

January is supposed to be a laid-back month…other than MLK-day and the every-four-year-inauguration January is supposed to be the month where we recover from the holidays and realize that, “yes”, all the holiday festivities did indeed land on our backsides and thighs and we must dedicate our free time to the gym and/or a treadmill.

Well, for me January was full-bore, full steam ahead. Just when I think my life is going to settle down it just gets a little crazier. We’re also living in the world of “Will I have a job next month?” So, far my employer has only cut out pay raises and an increase in 401K match for 2009, but there are rumors that it’s only the starting point.

So, I guess a little uncertainty has a way of making you feel busy.

Because the uncertain times in our world, country, and family I can honestly say this is one time I’m glad I don’t have children, but I feel bad about saying that. We are doing fine at the moment, but who knows what the future holds? I do have faith that we will be fine no matter what, because we have the Lord on our side. He said that he would never see his children begging bread. He is the great provider…not the president, the government, or my ability to make money. That takes a lot of pressure off of me, and if there’s anything I need it’s less pressure.

About thescribespen

I am a transcription coordinator/administrative assistant who works for a major non-profit international ministry. I live in Charlotte, NC with four fabulous felines. Life has thrown me a few curveballs, but I just keep on swinging and knocking them out of the park with God's help of course!

Leave a Reply

