Concerning Changes and Being Child….Free

Standard

I know I’ve been missing in action both here and on CNBC.  Nothing’s wrong, but my life has been undergoing some change especially on the professional end.  That has been challenging, because a lot of the change is not voluntary.  I don’t do change well, but I don’t do it terribly either.  I fall somewhere in the middle.  I have times of hope and of complete freaking out which, I believe, is fairly normal for most folks facing change…especially change that wasn’t really a choice.

Since the birth of my nephew earlier in the month I have felt a call to step back from focusing on what I don’t have to savoring what I do.   What I thought was going to be a terrible time for me…the birth of a new baby in the extended family…turned out to be a highlight of my year so far.  Right now I have a new, precious nephew that I could eat with a spoon! (For all you non-Southern folks that means I absolutely adore him) Actually, all the worrying and fretting I did for nine months prior to his arrival was really a lot of wasted energy.  There are still challenges in the family…the birth was not planned…there’s a single mom involved, and a father who was nothing more than a sperm donor.  However, Nate has been a little light in our lives, and has actually brought hope into the family even in the midst of the fantastic challenges that lie ahead in regards to his raising.  Warning:  Proud aunt photo immediately below:

Nate and Vicki

So, I have decided to step back for a while.  This doesn’t mean that I’m not going to minister to women who are walking/have walked the same trail I have.  I’m actually focusing a lot of my writing energy into online freelance writing.  My first article was on the subject of What Not To Say to a Woman Dealing with Infertility.  I’ve had great feedback so far on the article and plan on writing more on the subject and child-free living in general.  I’ll be sure to keep you updated on further articles here.

Yes, I am now considering myself child free…not the militant nobody-should-have-babies child free, but more of I’ve-got-to-look-at-my-life-in-a-positive-way child free.  It’s taken a long time to get to the point where around 75% of the time I’m okay with not having children.  So, I’ve decided to accentuate the positive instead of focusing on the negative.  That doesn’t mean that there won’t be dark times, and that major holidays won’t pass without a tear or two, but it means life is just too short not to enjoy the things you have been given…simple as that.

So, if my postings are few and far between for a while it will just mean that I’m trying to enjoy summer and cuddling my nephew when I’m not imprisoned in a work cubicle learning a stressful new job.  I’ll be back soon, refreshed, and ready to write.

Leave a Reply

