Labor Day…Venting and Thankfulness

Standard

Labor Day…an innocuous holiday that honors the working drones of America, but somehow pregnancy gets thrown in and cable channels run marathons of “A Baby Story”. “Deliver Me”, and “I Didn’t Know I was Pregnant.”

Venting:   Really?  On a holiday whose origins have absolutely nothing to do with pregnancy or babies…pregnancy and babies as per usual find a way to barge in uninvited.

I know, I know… it’s a cute and obvious correlation, but seriously…can there be ONE holiday that has nothing to do with babies and children?  I guess Memorial Day in America is about as close as one gets, but inevitably people post pictures of a babies in red, white, and blue outfits waving flags like they are Yankee Doodle reincarnated…and it’s over.

Thankfulness:   I spent Labor Day weekend unexpectedly with my sister-in-law (hubby’s sister), niece, and nephew (and of course, my husband).  I enjoyed my time with my niece and nephew yesterday and felt a sense of completeness and happiness when I was with them.  My niece and nephew are 13 and 2 respectively (you read right…and 11-year gap in their ages).  My niece is a beautiful soul and a wonderfully mature young lady. She’s not had the easiest life as her parents divorced when she was 3 and lives with her mom most of the year and with her dad in the Summer.  Somehow through all of this she has not only persevered she has thrived!  She cares for her little brother like a little momma and several times this weekend I was brought to tears by her sweet servant’s heart toward her mother and brother.  I made a special effort today to give her a big hug and tell her exactly how wonderful she is and how much I love her. I believe she’s going to go far in life and is exactly what I would’ve dreamed of in a daughter.

My nephew is a typical 2-year-old boy.  He was a “surprise”…completely unexpected in a troublesome sort of way but was the sweet outcome of a very unfortunate situation.  He has a head full of chestnut curls that any woman would envy, and is as smart as a whip.  He is my father-in-law’s biggest buddy and he’s helping to distract his “Bop-Bop” from rapidly declining health.   Of course, he’s  testing his boundaries majorly as any 2-year-old does, but all he has to do is flash you his sweet smile and you’re mush.  Any indiscretion he has committed completely dissolves from your mind.   In all honesty I’ve have had a hard time bonding with him for a myriad of reasons that have nothing to do with him and everything to do with my own infertility and failure to understand why some people get blessings they take for granted while I get none, but he is slowly but surely winning my heart.

It’s still never easy to feel the happiness and completeness of being with them and then next day saying goodbye and feeling the emptiness set back in, but I gladly take my doses of sweetness when I can get them.  I love my niece and nephews (one is grown and out on his own now) and they are a beautiful consolation for what I could never have for myself.

Leave a Reply

